CRWROPPS Post: poetry contest for college students, The Lyric

COLLEGE POETRY CONTEST The Lyric College Poetry Contest is open to undergraduates enrolled full time in an American or Canadian college or university First Prize  ~ $500 Second Prize  ~ $200 Third Prize  ~ $100 Honorable Mention  ~ Year's subscription and bragging rights SUBMISSIONS GUIDELINES Poems must be original and unpublished, 39 lines or less, written in English in traditional forms, preferably with regular scansion and rhyme. We welcome up to three poems per student. Winners are announced and published in the Winter issue of The Lyric. Entries may be sent by mail to Tanya Cimonetti: The Lyric College Contest c/o Tanya Cimonetti 1393 Spear Street South Burlington, VT 05403 Inquiries and information available at We will once again be considering collegiate contest entries by email.  Please add a short cover letter stating the traditional form that is entered, along with your name, undergraduate year, coll

CRWROPPS Post: Thin Air Magazine Contest

A prize of $1,000 and publication in Thin Air Magazine  is given annually for a single poem, a short story, or an essay written by a BIPOC writer. The winner will also be invited to read their winning entry at the Northern Arizona Book Festival in April 2024. Using only the online submission system, submit a work of poetry or prose of up to 500 words by November 5. There is no entry fee. Visit the website for complete guidelines. THE BIRD IN YOUR HANDS Announcing the fourth annual Bird In Your Hands Prize… a contest that centers and celebrates BIPOC voices! This is a no-fee contest accepting poetry, fiction, and nonfiction in any form under…

CRWROPPS Post: Poetry Breakfast

Poetry Breakfast  is an online poetry journal serving up a nourishing new poem every morning. Submissions are open Year-Round. While we are based in the USA, our readership comes from over 100 countries. Established in 2011, we nominate for both the Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize. We welcome submissions from all countries, cultures, and backgrounds. Send us your best work. Our focus is on our common humanity and what is within us that connects us to all. You can view our Submission Guidelines at

CRWROPPS Post: Prose Prize, the Georgia Review

The Georgia Review  Prose Prize opens November 1 and closes January 15. The best short story and essay will both be published in  The Georgia Review . This year the overall winner, chosen between the two, will also receive $1,500. The runner-up will receive $600. We invite writers from all backgrounds to submit.  Submissions must be sent either through  Submittable  between November 1 and January 15  or by regular mail postmarked within the same span of time. An entry should include either one short story or one essay. Only one entry per writer. Submissions cost $30, which includes a one-year subscription to The Georgia Review . Current subscribers will receive a one-year renewal. All entries will be considered for publication.  Danielle Evans is the author of the story collections  The Office of Historical Corrections  and  Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self . Her first collection won the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize, the Hurston/Wright award for fictio

CRWROPPS Post:: Scribes Valley 21st Annual Writing Contest

Scribes Valley Publishing is accepting submissions for our 21st annual short story writing contest. All finalists are published in an annual contest anthology, both print and electronic versions. Monetary prizes for top 3 finalists are based on contest participation – the more entries we receive, the bigger the prize amounts. In addition, all finalists receive a copy of the finished anthology. Thrill us…amaze us…entertain us…TELL US A STORY! Deadline:  November 30, 2023    Winners announced around January 30, 2024 Word limit:  5,000 Entry Fee:  $8.00 US Complete submission guidelines and rules on our website: .

CRWROPPS Post: Anisfield-Wolf Fellowship in Writing & Publishing: APPLY NOW

Subject:  Anisfield-Wolf Fellowship in Writing & Publishing: APPLY NOW   The Anisfield-Wolf Fellowship in Writing & Publishing  offers an emerging writer time to work toward a first or second book and professional experience teaching creative writing and engaging in publishing and community-oriented literary work in collaboration with the CSU Poetry Center and English Department. The current application cycle is only open to writers who have been residents of Ohio for at least two consecutive years, for any period before the fellowship's start in August 2024. The salary is $50K per year with health insurance and benefits. The application deadline is January 15, 2024. More on the particulars can be found here .    The CSU Poetry Center  is an independent nonprofit press and center t

CRWROPPS Post: Black River Chapbook Competition

The Fall, 2023 Black River Chapbook Competition Twice each year Black Lawrence Press will run the Black River Chapbook Competition for an unpublished chapbook of poems or prose between 16-36 pages in length. The contest is open to new, emerging, and established writers. The winner will receive book publication, a $500 cash award, and ten copies of the book. Prizes are awarded on publication.   Our chapbooks are perfect-bound, feature striking cover designs, each receive an ISBN, and are distributed nationally through Small Press Distribution, as well as on our website and at We treat our chapbooks just like our full-length titles in terms of aesthetics, production, publicity, and editorial love and care Deadline: October 31 Information: Black Lawrence Press Submission Manager During our June and November open reading periods, we accept submission